Tip for modding atvX - Ricky's Customization Tool

Post your great articles here :)
Post Reply
User avatar
Nayam
Administrator & Developer
Posts: 757
Joined: Mon Jun 11, 2018 11:58 pm
Has thanked: 44 times
Been thanked: 74 times
Contact:

Tip for modding atvX - Ricky's Customization Tool

Post by Nayam » Sat Jan 05, 2019 11:51 am

Only use v4 of Ricky's Amlogic Customization Tool. v5 of that tool will give you updating loop bugs and more!
Download the v4 from here:

DOWNLOAD

[IMPORTANT] BE SURE WINDOWS DEFENDER AND ANTIVIRUS DO NOT INTERFERE WITH THE PROGRAMS AND ALL ITS CONTENT!!!
BE NICE, BE RESPECTFUL
RESPECT THE MODERATORS
PM ONLY WHEN IMPORTANT
ENJOY!

drotosclerosi
Posts: 2
Joined: Fri Feb 01, 2019 8:08 am
Has thanked: 1 time

Post by drotosclerosi » Fri Feb 01, 2019 8:10 am

Hi there! Is this valid also for the new 2H version of atvxperience?
I only want to add some apps, but the software seems to crash while rebuilding the IMG file

User avatar
ricklar
Moderator
Posts: 202
Joined: Fri Nov 30, 2018 10:30 pm
Has thanked: 21 times
Been thanked: 37 times

Post by ricklar » Fri Feb 01, 2019 8:32 am

drotosclerosi wrote:
Fri Feb 01, 2019 8:10 am
Hi there! Is this valid also for the new 2H version of atvxperience?
I only want to add some apps, but the software seems to crash while rebuilding the IMG file
I experienced some same issues with repackaging the firmware using Ricky's Amlogic Customization Tool. So only used it to unpackage the firmware images for editing and used a stock version of the Amlogic Customization Tool to repackage firmwares. My guess was that it had to do with me using a Windows7 machine. But maybe it is same for everybody.

If just want to add Apps in one large batch file, it is probably easier to just to load a USB thumb drive with apks then install after firmware is booted up and fully installed.
☢️ My device: H96 Pro+ 3gb/32gb ☢️

drotosclerosi
Posts: 2
Joined: Fri Feb 01, 2019 8:08 am
Has thanked: 1 time

Post by drotosclerosi » Fri Feb 01, 2019 10:55 am

ricklar wrote:
Fri Feb 01, 2019 8:32 am
drotosclerosi wrote:
Fri Feb 01, 2019 8:10 am
Hi there! Is this valid also for the new 2H version of atvxperience?
I only want to add some apps, but the software seems to crash while rebuilding the IMG file
I experienced some same issues with repackaging the firmware using Ricky's Amlogic Customization Tool. So only used it to unpackage the firmware images for editing and used a stock version of the Amlogic Customization Tool to repackage firmwares. My guess was that it had to do with me using a Windows7 machine. But maybe it is same for everybody.

If just want to add Apps in one large batch file, it is probably easier to just to load a USB thumb drive with apks then install after firmware is booted up and fully installed.
for sure, and that's what I do when I configure my tv box by myself.

The problem is that I ofter configure some boxes for my friends or my family, and I spend some time sideloading apks.

Moreover, I usually do some tweaks to some configuration files (you know, wifi config and so on) and I would love to prepare a custom IMG with everything included.

I'll try your repackaging method, hoping that the resulting IMG won't soft brick my device as it happened when i used the last version of the customization tool.

User avatar
em3ka
Moderator
Posts: 174
Joined: Sun Jul 15, 2018 11:43 am
Has thanked: 2 times
Been thanked: 19 times

Post by em3ka » Fri Feb 01, 2019 11:15 am

drotosclerosi wrote:
Fri Feb 01, 2019 10:55 am
hoping that the resulting IMG won't soft brick my device as it happened when i used the last version of the customization tool
Use only v4 version, i am running the customization tool under Windows 7 (Windows Defender turned off) without problems.

soldiaz
Expert Member
Posts: 106
Joined: Sat Sep 29, 2018 6:29 pm

Post by soldiaz » Sat Feb 09, 2019 9:15 pm

How is it possible to unpack using AML tools 4.0.0 and repack with Amlogic's customization Tool?

User avatar
em3ka
Moderator
Posts: 174
Joined: Sun Jul 15, 2018 11:43 am
Has thanked: 2 times
Been thanked: 19 times

Post by em3ka » Sat Feb 09, 2019 10:17 pm

There is new release v6.0.0 available.


soldiaz
Expert Member
Posts: 106
Joined: Sat Sep 29, 2018 6:29 pm

Post by soldiaz » Sun Feb 10, 2019 1:38 pm

All tools I used have their own issues.....

Noone works as it should without issues...

ectraz
Posts: 2
Joined: Fri Mar 15, 2019 10:31 am

Post by ectraz » Fri Mar 15, 2019 10:45 am

Any method for auto install of kodi when building the rom?

User avatar
Nayam
Administrator & Developer
Posts: 757
Joined: Mon Jun 11, 2018 11:58 pm
Has thanked: 44 times
Been thanked: 74 times
Contact:

Post by Nayam » Fri Mar 15, 2019 3:42 pm

ectraz wrote:
Fri Mar 15, 2019 10:45 am
Any method for auto install of kodi when building the rom?
You'll need init scripts for that.
Look for the preinstall.sh script in bin folder.
BE NICE, BE RESPECTFUL
RESPECT THE MODERATORS
PM ONLY WHEN IMPORTANT
ENJOY!

Post Reply