[HELP] x96 max bricked

New and faster chipset from Amlogic
xxmaciek
Posts: 2
Joined: Fri Oct 04, 2019 11:56 am
Been thanked: 3 times

[HELP] x96 max bricked

#1

Post by xxmaciek » Wed Oct 09, 2019 7:38 pm

Hi.
How I can unbrick this version of x96 max. It is 4/32

Image

User avatar
em3ka  
Moderator
Posts: 504
Joined: Sun Jul 15, 2018 11:43 am
Has thanked: 42 times
Been thanked: 131 times

#2

Post by em3ka » Wed Oct 09, 2019 8:14 pm

You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.

Bourgeois
Posts: 1
Joined: Wed Oct 09, 2019 9:39 am

#3

Post by Bourgeois » Thu Oct 10, 2019 12:00 pm

What's the success percentage of this method btw?

Nayam
Administrator & Developer
Posts: 1240
Joined: Mon Jun 11, 2018 11:58 pm
Has thanked: 178 times
Been thanked: 345 times
Contact:

#4

Post by Nayam » Fri Oct 11, 2019 8:29 am

Bourgeois wrote:
Thu Oct 10, 2019 12:00 pm
What's the success percentage of this method btw?
60% I'd say.
UART flashing is 100%
BE NICE, BE RESPECTFUL
RESPECT THE MODERATORS
PM ONLY WHEN IMPORTANT
ENJOY!
My Devices:
X96 Mini, A95X Pro, H96 Pro Stick, A95X Max

kevinho040
Verified Member
Posts: 16
Joined: Sun Oct 13, 2019 5:38 pm

#5

Post by kevinho040 » Sun Oct 13, 2019 5:42 pm

Nayam wrote:
Fri Oct 11, 2019 8:29 am
Bourgeois wrote:
Thu Oct 10, 2019 12:00 pm
What's the success percentage of this method btw?
60% I'd say.
UART flashing is 100%
I bricked my Vontar X96 max, installed a custom rom that deactivated the reset button, then after a while it got in a boot loop and nothing works.

What is UART to fix it 100%? Or which pins I must short to fix? I try the HDMI pins but did not work.

kevinho040
Verified Member
Posts: 16
Joined: Sun Oct 13, 2019 5:38 pm

#6

Post by kevinho040 » Sun Oct 13, 2019 5:48 pm

modEDIT:
@kevinho040 , your box is OEM version of X96 Max (S905X2) so i move your post here.


Hello all,

I received my X96 max but it wouldn’t give me sound trough hdmi, optical nothing. Only with Bluetooth connected to my soundbar.

I tried to reinstall stock firmware, didn’t work, then I installed custom firmware, still no sound.

Then after a while I boot my box but it’s stuck in a boot loop and I found out that the custom firmware has no driver for my reset button! I looked online and see that you can short the hdmi pin but also no luck... my device is totally bricked. Somebody know the right pin to short or another solution? I added a picture of my board. Many thanks.
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.

User avatar
em3ka  
Moderator
Posts: 504
Joined: Sun Jul 15, 2018 11:43 am
Has thanked: 42 times
Been thanked: 131 times

#7

Post by em3ka » Sun Oct 13, 2019 6:01 pm

kevinho040 wrote:
Sun Oct 13, 2019 5:42 pm
... which pins I must short to fix?
👁 viewtopic.php?p=10000#p10000
kevinho040 wrote:
Sun Oct 13, 2019 5:42 pm
What is UART to fix it 100%?
:point_right: viewtopic.php?f=16&t=453

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=uSuFVntxRg0

kevinho040
Verified Member
Posts: 16
Joined: Sun Oct 13, 2019 5:38 pm

#8

Post by kevinho040 » Sun Oct 13, 2019 6:06 pm

em3ka wrote:
Sun Oct 13, 2019 6:01 pm
kevinho040 wrote:
Sun Oct 13, 2019 5:42 pm
... which pins I must short to fix?
👁 viewtopic.php?p=10000#p10000
kevinho040 wrote:
Sun Oct 13, 2019 5:42 pm
What is UART to fix it 100%?
:point_right: viewtopic.php?f=16&t=453

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=uSuFVntxRg0

The first video I tried, my reset button doesn’t work and it’s a different board so did not work for me.

The UART usb I ordered now but will I be able to inbrick it with putty? Or can I connect to UART and then install firmware trough usb burning tool?

User avatar
em3ka  
Moderator
Posts: 504
Joined: Sun Jul 15, 2018 11:43 am
Has thanked: 42 times
Been thanked: 131 times

#9

Post by em3ka » Sun Oct 13, 2019 6:37 pm

kevinho040 wrote:
Sun Oct 13, 2019 6:06 pm
.... doesn’t work and it’s a different board so did not work for me.
It can't be that much of a difference, post a photo of boards backside, you just need to find the right pins.
kevinho040 wrote:
Sun Oct 13, 2019 6:06 pm
... can I connect to UART and then install firmware trough usb burning tool?
Yes.

kevinho040
Verified Member
Posts: 16
Joined: Sun Oct 13, 2019 5:38 pm

#10

Post by kevinho040 » Sun Oct 13, 2019 6:50 pm

em3ka wrote:
Sun Oct 13, 2019 6:37 pm
kevinho040 wrote:
Sun Oct 13, 2019 6:06 pm
.... doesn’t work and it’s a different board so did not work for me.
It can't be that much of a difference, post a photo of boards backside, you just need to find the right pins.
kevinho040 wrote:
Sun Oct 13, 2019 6:06 pm
... can I connect to UART and then install firmware trough usb burning tool?
Yes.
I ordered UART usb.

Here 2 pictures of the back of my board! I appreciate your help.
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.

Post Reply