Porting Wi-Fi from stock ROM to atvX

Post your great articles here :)
Nayam
Administrator & Developer
Posts: 1275
Joined: Mon Jun 11, 2018 11:58 pm
Has thanked: 195 times
Been thanked: 423 times
Contact:

#1

Image

Just above the wlan driver box, you can see some files like wpa_supplicant and netd, you need to copy your stock files(mentioned in the image) from /system/bin and paste it in respective atvX folder.

Also copy and overwrite your /system/etc/wifi folder from stock to atvX.


modEDIT [2021-11-04]
image URL updated
BE NICE, BE RESPECTFUL
RESPECT THE MODERATORS
PM ONLY WHEN IMPORTANT
ENJOY!
My Devices:
X96 Mini, A95X Pro, H96 Pro Stick, A95X Max
ooo0luo
Verified Member
Posts: 12
Joined: Tue Mar 26, 2019 8:49 am
Has thanked: 3 times

#2

Excuse me, is it necessary to copy these files to a location, can give a path, I have tried for a day, always fail. Thank you!
User avatar
mxfreak
Experienced Member
Posts: 64
Joined: Tue Mar 19, 2019 1:14 pm
Has thanked: 25 times
Been thanked: 2 times

#3

The path is given already by Nayam.,read..
And yes it is necessary if you want to modify or replace wifi files.

Use xplore app and look at that system/etc/wifi folder
Or extract the img of your own choice and find that dir,and rebuild it.

I always make backup of dir first before changing stuff.
ooo0luo
Verified Member
Posts: 12
Joined: Tue Mar 26, 2019 8:49 am
Has thanked: 3 times

#4

Thank you very much, I think I probably understand today, I did not copy / system / bin directory yesterday. let me try again.
anil009
Posts: 2
Joined: Mon Apr 01, 2019 11:12 pm

#5

Does this copy worked for anyone? I have MxQ Pro, 2 GB RAM version. Wifi is not working. It's 2.4+5G wifi.
ooo0luo
Verified Member
Posts: 12
Joined: Tue Mar 26, 2019 8:49 am
Has thanked: 3 times

#6

After copying all my files, I still have no effect. Later on the Internet search to see that 2.4G + 5G I can not solve.
ooo0luo
Verified Member
Posts: 12
Joined: Tue Mar 26, 2019 8:49 am
Has thanked: 3 times

#7

This is the original rom of my TV box.
https://drive.google.com/open?id=122iGi ... iQ7XA9HWWQ
soldiaz
Expert Member
Posts: 404
Joined: Sat Sep 29, 2018 6:29 pm
Has thanked: 28 times
Been thanked: 22 times

#8

Which is best wifi chip, btw? Or does performance depend on Firmware?
User avatar
ricklar
Moderator
Posts: 889
Joined: Fri Nov 30, 2018 10:30 pm
Has thanked: 139 times
Been thanked: 249 times

#9

soldiaz wrote: Sun Oct 27, 2019 7:50 am Which is best wifi chip, btw? Or does performance depend on Firmware?
Performance depends on board construction, WiFi antennas, and your Router. If your Router is crap then even the best WiFi chips won't have good performance. The best chips are labeled 2T2R or MIMO and have a data throughput of 800+ Mbps. Budget Android TVBox devices usually don't have good WiFi chipsets.
BE KIND, BE NICE, BE RESPECTFUL TO OTHERS, RESPECT THE MODERATORS,
*IMPORTANT NOTE* ONLY PM MODERATORS OR DEVELOPERS AS A LAST RESORT!!!

☢️ My test device: H96 Pro+ 3gb/32gb DDR4 ☢️ Plus own Tanix, Beelink, Alfawise, X96S, Odroid-N2, Khadas VIM3L, X3, ADT-3, X96-Air
GEARBEST.com
PLEASE ENJOY ATVX!
soldiaz
Expert Member
Posts: 404
Joined: Sat Sep 29, 2018 6:29 pm
Has thanked: 28 times
Been thanked: 22 times

#10

Thanks, so it does not matter wether AP62xx or RT8xxx? Beside this I experienced some better performance on different roms, maybe due to tweaks in General no matter which chip is used? Could be just a feeling...

I equipped the tx92 with external antenna connector and I had better connection then with attached WiFi antenna.

What about the internal PCB antenna. Does replacing with internal 8dbi PCB antenna make sense?
Post Reply