DDR Clock-Rate

Post your great articles here :)
Post Reply
bumerc
Administrator & Developer
Posts: 1649
Joined: Tue Oct 02, 2018 6:19 pm
Has thanked: 254 times
Been thanked: 341 times

#1

For porting requests and questions about the compatibility of a certain device with atvXperience ROM, please perform the following test and add the current clock frequency value of your RAM to your request/question. Please specify the exact RAM memory type - DDR3/4, LPDDR3/4 etc. (exact marking of the RAM chip is required).

You can find the DDR Clk. Rate in the following ways:

Code: Select all

adb connect <your_board_ip_addr>:5555
adb shell dd if=/dev/block/mmcblk0 of=/sdcard/ddr_clk.bin bs=1 count=2 skip=41482
adb shell hexdump -e '"%d"' /sdcard/ddr_clk.bin
a decimal value appears immediately before the shell_prompt, which is the current DDR clock rate in Mhz ..
In my case "744" Mhz

Image

The commands should be done with original ROM.
User avatar
mxfreak
Experienced Member
Posts: 64
Joined: Tue Mar 19, 2019 1:14 pm
Has thanked: 25 times
Been thanked: 2 times

#2

At bumerc,is this also usefull for my troubles with original/dmyco roms on my mxqpro+ box ?

If yes ? then i try to post it.
User avatar
ricklar
Moderator
Posts: 889
Joined: Fri Nov 30, 2018 10:30 pm
Has thanked: 139 times
Been thanked: 249 times

#3

[mention]mxfreak[/mention] if the DDR Clk Rate is incorrect then the tv box most times won't even boot, but if it does boot up and then the firmware seems to be operating and walking through mud at the same time with rampant crashes, that is usually sign DDR Clk Rate is close but not quite right. Remember though that the Terminal Clk Rate Test must be done with a functioning Stock/Factory Firmware to make a proper Rom Port.
BE KIND, BE NICE, BE RESPECTFUL TO OTHERS, RESPECT THE MODERATORS,
*IMPORTANT NOTE* ONLY PM MODERATORS OR DEVELOPERS AS A LAST RESORT!!!

☢️ My test device: H96 Pro+ 3gb/32gb DDR4 ☢️ Plus own Tanix, Beelink, Alfawise, X96S, Odroid-N2, Khadas VIM3L, X3, ADT-3, X96-Air
GEARBEST.com
PLEASE ENJOY ATVX!
User avatar
mxfreak
Experienced Member
Posts: 64
Joined: Tue Mar 19, 2019 1:14 pm
Has thanked: 25 times
Been thanked: 2 times

#4

Thankzz, iam learning, :*

Glad i dont have weird errors/crashing with my box,it runs very smooth (at this moment and clean rom)
craser86
Verified Member
Posts: 28
Joined: Sat Jan 05, 2019 1:57 pm

#5

hi, unpacking lately a lot of firmware to make compatible with my ram ddr 4 2400mhz, but is it enough to copy the 4 files or do I have to do anything else? because there are some roms where it shows the ram 2749 and other 2775mhz or other errors that do not connect to the playstore. also by changing the value of the ram am I going to lose the pre-loaded tweaks of the rom?
User avatar
ricklar
Moderator
Posts: 889
Joined: Fri Nov 30, 2018 10:30 pm
Has thanked: 139 times
Been thanked: 249 times

#6

craser86 wrote: Mon May 20, 2019 8:06 am hi, unpacking lately a lot of firmware to make compatible with my ram ddr 4 2400mhz, but is it enough to copy the 4 files or do I have to do anything else?
If you refer to the other tutorial post about files to copy to make firmware compatible, then yes that is correct just those 4 files.
because there are some roms where it shows the ram 2749 and other 2775mhz or other errors that do not connect to the playstore
Where are you getting these MHz values from? If you install ram MHz value greater then the hardware specification of 2400 MHz you are going to have problems.
also by changing the value of the ram am I going to lose the pre-loaded tweaks of the rom?
The RAM setting applied through Bootloader won't affect any tweaks that are applied through system partition. But if you are talking about modifying the Kernel to adjust RAM, then do at your own risk, because I will recommend against trying to modify the kernel unless you fully understand the complexities of doing so.
BE KIND, BE NICE, BE RESPECTFUL TO OTHERS, RESPECT THE MODERATORS,
*IMPORTANT NOTE* ONLY PM MODERATORS OR DEVELOPERS AS A LAST RESORT!!!

☢️ My test device: H96 Pro+ 3gb/32gb DDR4 ☢️ Plus own Tanix, Beelink, Alfawise, X96S, Odroid-N2, Khadas VIM3L, X3, ADT-3, X96-Air
GEARBEST.com
PLEASE ENJOY ATVX!
craser86
Verified Member
Posts: 28
Joined: Sat Jan 05, 2019 1:57 pm

#7

Yes you are right! I finally fixed the ram. I have a custom rom evolution mod, I would like to eliminate some useless scripts and apps that don't interest me. can i pass you the rom file can you take a look? Telegram?
krzee
Posts: 5
Joined: Fri Jun 14, 2019 3:07 am
Has thanked: 10 times

#8

the T95-s1 does not have /dev/block/mmcblk0
in fact nothing is found with: find /dev/ -name mcc*

Code: Select all

S905W:/dev/block # ls -l
total 0
brw------- 1 root root 250,   7 2014-12-31 20:00 boot
brw------- 1 root root 250,   0 2014-12-31 20:00 cache
brw------- 1 root root 250,   5 2014-12-31 20:00 crypt
brw------- 1 root root 250,   9 2014-12-31 20:00 data
brw------- 1 root root 250,   1 2014-12-31 20:00 logo
brw------- 1 root root   7,   0 2014-12-31 20:00 loop0
brw------- 1 root root   7,   1 2014-12-31 20:00 loop1
brw------- 1 root root   7,   2 2014-12-31 20:00 loop2
brw------- 1 root root   7,   3 2014-12-31 20:00 loop3
brw------- 1 root root   7,   4 2014-12-31 20:00 loop4
brw------- 1 root root   7,   5 2014-12-31 20:00 loop5
brw------- 1 root root   7,   6 2014-12-31 20:00 loop6
brw------- 1 root root   7,  64 2014-12-31 20:00 loop64
brw------- 1 root root   7,   7 2014-12-31 20:00 loop7
brw------- 1 root root 250,   6 2014-12-31 20:00 misc
brw------- 1 root root 250,   2 2014-12-31 20:00 recovery
brw------- 1 root root 250,   3 2014-12-31 20:00 rsv
brw------- 1 root root 250,   8 2014-12-31 20:00 system
brw------- 1 root root 250,   4 2014-12-31 20:00 tee
drwx------ 2 root root       40 2014-12-31 20:00 vold
brw------- 1 root root 253,   0 2019-06-23 15:03 zram0
Post Reply